For those of you who have been following my blog for a while now (back when it was entitled “Now Loading”) you know that I love pointing a finger and laughing at stupidity as much as I love showcasing advances in robotics. So today I am starting a new segment entitled World of Dumb. It is devoted to all those people who are in the running for a Darwin Award someday, if they have not already made an acceptance speech..

Today’s World of Dumb was found on Geekology back in October of 2012 and showcases a man (in Florida) who entered into a bug eating contest. Yes, a contest to see who could eat the most bug. Specifically cockroaches.  He apparently ate dozens of the roaches before collapsing, then dying.

Michael Adams, a professor of entomology at the University of California, Riverside, told The Associated Press that he has never heard of someone dying after eating roaches.

“Unless the roaches were contaminated with some bacteria or other pathogens, I don’t think that cockroaches would be unsafe to eat,” Adams said. “Some people do have allergies to roaches but there are no toxins in roaches or related insects.”

Meanwhile, Archbold’s friends took to his Facebook page to remember him. Wrote one: “This goes out to one of the most funnest, craziest, and most energetic person I have ever met!!! I will never ever forget u Eddie… I don’t think anyone could!!” –  NBC News

So, why was this man in this contest in the first place? Well the obvious reason of course. He wanted to win pet ball python. Yes, he ate bugs to win a snake.

 

eccc2013

