kickstarter_bannerI’m sorry I’ve been away so long. I’ve been sick with a fever of the brain, and now that I’m feeling better I’ve been devoting all of my time to ensuring that our World War Kaiju Kickstarter is a success!

But today I’d like to talk about something that has been bothering me. An issue that has been on my mind for more than a year now. And that is Tauriel, the wood elf lass that was added to The Hobbit. Why was she added? Because some people think there weren’t enough chicks in the film… and toy companies wanted to market dolls to girls.

Now, I can totally understand having a female elf or two or even ten when the dwarves go through Mirkwood. It would be perfectly fine if they engaged in conversation with the main characters or even helped them along the way.

I object to Tauriel because she serves no purpose OTHER than to pander to activist groups who want more women, focus groups who don’t like seeing so many men on screen, and the toy companies so they can market to girls. That is it. That is ALL she is good for. She serves absolutely no other purpose.

“But Kat, the movie hasn’t even come out yet. Aren’t you being a bit premature?”

No, I’m not. And you want to know why? Because they were marketing her action figures last year when the first movie came out. And she’s not even in that one.

Look, quite frankly I find the addition of this elf chick to be insulting. I don’t need to be told by the film industry that “girls can do it too.” I don’t need a made up elf chick to tell me that. I’ve got Aeowyn killing the Wraith King to do that. The Hobbit should stay about Bilbo and his personal journey. Adding characters strictly to be PC cheapens the story and pads out the film to a ridiculous degree. And again, I know girls want to have awesome characters to play with too… but the invention of Tauriel is TOO obvious an attempt to shoe-horn in the female demographic for merchandising.

So to finish, Tauriel is a waste and I for one am going to pretend she doesn’t exist and try to focus soley on Smaug when I see the film. Yes, I am seeing the film. Smaug on the big screen is a childhood dream come true and I’m not going to let a stupid decision by the studios ruin it for me.

