carpe-crustum-logofinal

We have a logo!!! I’m so excited to be able to show the new logo for Carpe Crustum! And what better way to celebrate the new logo than with pancakes. Sweet Potato Pancakes. I’m sorry I don’t have a picture to go with them right now. I’ll add one in the future. As always you can use your own substitutes for butter and replace the apple sauce with egg yolk but the way I cook them they are only 89 calories per pancake.

1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
3 tablespoons cornmeal
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1 cup fat-free milk
1 cup sweet potato, mashed
1 tablespoon brown sugar
2 tablespoons splenda
1/8 teaspoon molasses
1 tablespoon light butter substitute
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 tablespoons apple sauce
2 large egg whites

Using a whisk, stir together milk, sweet potato, sugar, splenda, molasses, butter substitute, vanilla, and apple sauce until smooth.  Add in the first five dry ingredients, stirring just until combined.

Using an electric mixer, beat the egg whites till soft peaks form. Then fold the egg fluff into your batter.

Use a 1/4 c. measuring scoop to pour the batter onto a hot, greased griddle. Cook on each side till golden brown.

Serve hot with pecan flavored syrup or fruit mixed with pecans. They are also good cold on their own.

 

Low Cal Brown Sugar

How I kept the calories down in this recipe was to substitute the brown sugar for splenda. I do not recomend buying the packages of Splenda brown sugar because those are almost all regular brown sugar, and you pay three times as much for it.

To make your own brown sugar substitute just mix together one cup of Splenda with one tablespoon of molasses. If you do a lot of baking, you might want to make up a large batch of this and store it in an air tight container. I have heard that you can use it strait but I still hold by my “half” rule with recipes. Half real sugar, half sugar substitute.

 

