carpe-crustum-logofinal-chaishortbread

I love this recipe. Admittedly it started life as something I found in Sunset magazine and then messed with. The original called for macadamia nuts and white chocolate chips. I have opted not to put those in mine because they are so good on their own and I don’t care for white chocolate.

Use your own butter and egg substitutes or not, as you see fit. By my recipe, each cookie is 53 calories.

1 cup butter substitute
1/4 cup sugar
1/4 cup splenda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1.5 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 cups flour
1 tablespoon cinnamon
1 1/4 teaspoons ground ginger
1 teaspoon ground fennel seeds (use a coffee grinder, or buy them preground)
1/2 teaspoon ground cardamom
1 bag of English Breakfast Tea, opened

Preheat oven to 350°.

Using a mixer, combine butter and sugars. Then add the salt and vanilla till smooth. Combine next the cinnamon, ginger, fennel, cardamom, and tea leaves (no bag) on low. add the flour in last. Don’t dump it all in, let it blend in smoothly.

If you wanted to add in a cup of chocolate chips and/or nuts, this is the time to do it.

Spoon out 1 tablespoon sized cookies on a cookie sheet, giving them room to spread out as they cook. Use a wet or floured glass bottom to flatten your scoops so they are more of a “cookie” shape. Bake for 15-18 min. or till they are nice and golden brown. Cool on a wire rack and enjoy.

 

Chef’s note: I have plans on replacing a 1/4 of the butter with greek yogurt the next time I make this. If you do this before I do, let me know how it turns out.

