carpe-crustum-logoapricotturnover

I came up with these while making pizza turnovers and I had extra dough left over. Perfectly hits the spot when I’m craving a fruit pie or something sweet from the oven but I don’t want to spend a lot of time making it. It took me about 5 min. to make one. Add 15min. baking time and you have a delicious treat in 20min total.

I added the ricotta for texture and just a hint of creaminess without being overwhelming. It also adds protein, making this a great snack after a workout.

This recipe comes out to 200 cal. but I think next time I won’t put in the honey. It was a bit too sweet for me. Without the honey, it would be 180 calories. I will leave it to your discretion if you want the honey in or not.

This recipe is for one turnover.

2 oz. pizza dough (Trader Joes) roll into a ball
3 dried apricots
1 tablespoon raspberry preserve
1 tablespoon fat free ricotta cheese
1 teaspoon honey (optional)
small pinch bowl of water
1 teaspoon butter substitute, melted
sprinkle of cinnamon or pumpkin pie spice

Preheat oven to 350

Roll out your dough on a floured surface till it’s thin and as round as you can make it. Slightly off center place the three apricots, overlap them if you wish. Add the honey now if you wish and place the ricotta on the apricots. Now place the preserve on top. Make sure there is a clean edge of dough around your filling. Fold over one side of dough to the other side. Use the water to wet your fingers and make the edges stick. I like to roll over the edges slightly as well. Place on your baking sheet and poke a few holes with a knife or fork to let out the steam. Brush on as much of the butter substitute as you want and sprinkle on the cinnamon/pumpkin pie spice. Bake for 15min. Enjoy!

 

 

