carpe-crustum-pumpkinmuffin

It’s almost fall and I’ve been having a huge craving for something pumpkiny. So I got out the Cooking Light cookbook and found there recepie. And just because I can’t leave well enough alone, I had to tweak it. Their recipe’s muffins are 160 calories each. Mine are 110 without the nuts and 120 with.

Makes 18 muffins.

2 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1/2 cup splenda
1 tablespoon baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup canned pumpkin
3/4 nonfat plain greek yogurt
1/3 cup fat-free milk
1/4 cup butter substitute (melted) or oil
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
5 tablespoons of egg white from a carton or
2 large egg whites

1/4 cup chopped nuts or fruit of your choice (optional)

Preheat your oven to 375 deg. Grease your muffin tins or put in liners
In a mixing bowl, combine the first 7 ingredients and mix them up a bit. make a well in the middle to put all the wet stuff. Add in all the wet ingredients. When you mix, mix thoroughly but as briefly as possible. Over mixing can make your muffins tough. This is why I like having a glass mixing bowl because I can see when things arent’ mixed completely. Make sure everything gets wet and covered. If you are going to add nuts or fruit, this is the time to do it. Fold them in.

Fill your muffin tins about 2/3 of the way full. See my recipe on coffee cake if you want a crumble top.

Bake for 18-22m. Cool on a wire rack.
I made mine with 1/4 cup pecan pieces and chose not to give it a crumble top.

They also make awesome loaves. I didn’t have enough muffin tins so I made a tin of 12 muffins and two mini loaves. I figure each loaf is the equivalent of 3 muffins.

