waffel

Yes, you read that right. These waffles are made with chick pea flour. You could also call them Breakfast Falafel. This recipe was given to me by my father. He would make these for me when I was kid on Saturday mornings with strawberries and cream cheese.

I’m going to put two different recipes for this. One my father’s, the other one I created with coconut flour because I just can’t leave a good thing alone. I have to try to improve it . Well… at least calorie count wise.

Both are yummy and fluffy. Try them both.

My Father’s Awful Falafel Waffle Recipe

1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 cup chick pea flour
1 tbsp baking powder
1 tbsp sugar or sugar substitute
1/2 tsp salt
4 eggs
6 Tbsp. butter, melted
1 cup milk
1 Tbsp vanilla extract
1/2 cup root beer or cream soda

 My Coconut Awful Falafel Waffle Recipe

1/3 cup coconut flour
3/4 cup chick pea flour
1 tbsp baking powder
2 tbsp sugar or sugar substitute
1/2 tsp salt
2 eggs
4 egg whites
6 Tbsp. butter, melted
1 cup milk
1 Tbsp vanilla extract
1/2 cup root beer or cream soda (diet is fine)

Combine wet ingredients in a bowl and set aside. In a large mixing bowl, combine the dry ingredients. Using your spoon, make a well in the middle of the dry ingredients and gently poor the wet into the well. Stir everything together. Try to mix out all the lumps. Make your waffles on your waffle iron like normal and enjoy!

